/ 
 / 

Satellite-based navigation

The potential for further developing conventional navigation systems has now been exhausted. If flight procedures are to be further refined, new technologies are required. One such technology is satellite-based navigation, which offers more possibilities than conventional navigation systems and provides a promising foundation for innovative new approach and departure procedures. 

Satellite-based navigation’s potential for aviation

Satellite-based navigation looks set to play a major role in the design and development of flight procedures over the coming years. One of the key advantages of this new technology is the greater positional accuracy it provides. This in turn offers several further benefits, with the promise of more efficient air traffic handling, lower fuel consumption, fewer pollutant emissions and less noise, too.  

A programme for developing flight procedures

The Swiss Federal Office of Civil Aviation, Zurich Airport, Geneva Airport, Switzerland’s regional airports, SWISS, Easyjet, the Swiss Air Force and skyguide have jointly established an innovation programme known as “CHIPS” for introducing new satellite-based flight procedures. CHIPS stands for the Swiss (“CH”)-wide Implementation Programme for SESAR -oriented objectives, and is intended to coordinate all the projects involved here at the national level and provide the parameters for their implementation. To date, more than 20 project proposals have been submitted throughout Switzerland in association with innovative new flight procedures. Some of these have already been implemented, at locations such as Zurich Airport, St. Gallen-Altenrhein and Les Eplatures regional airports and the Inselspital hospital in Bern (see Project proposals in Switzerland for more details).

Extensive groundwork required

Innovative flight procedures cannot be introduced from one day to the next. Extensive groundwork needs to be performed at both the technical and the institutional level before satellite-based navigation procedures are adopted. Certificated navigation techniques are needed, on the ground and in the air; and due regard must also be paid to the various air transport operators and further airspace users, their specific training requirements and the changed and changing processes involved.

Tailor-made solutions

Every new satellite-based flight procedure is individually tailored to the needs of the airport and the airspace users concerned. Skyguide assists and advises the airport authorities and operators in their decisions on whether to adopt the new procedures, and works together with them to find the best possible solutions.

Contact

ATM Customer Relations
Tel.: +41 43 931 63 63
atm(at)skyguide.ch

 

24.03.2015
Skyguide’s 2014 business year: corporate stability strengthened; operating result below prior-year level

 

19.01.2015
Skyguide’s 2014: very high punctuality levels maintained despite slight increase in traffic volumes

 

04.11.2014
Hans Bracher becomes full member of the Executive Board

 

01.04.15
Berufsinfoveranstaltung, skyguide Zürich

 

15.04.15
Job info, skyguide Genève

 

21.04.15
Berufsinformation, skyguide Bern-Belp

DE

Satellitengestützte Navigation

Das Entwicklungspotential der konventionellen Navigationssysteme ist ausgeschöpft. Für die Weiterentwicklung der Flugverfahren sind neue Technologien wie die Satellitennavigation gefragt. Diese bietet mehr Möglichkeiten als die konventionellen Navigationssysteme und stellt die Basis für zukünftige innovative An- und Abflugverfahren dar.

Potential der Satellitennavigation für die Luftfahrt

Die Satellitennavigation wird in den nächsten Jahren die Gestaltung von Flugverfahren erheblich beeinflussen. Das künftige Potential der neuen Navigationstechnologie liegt insbesondere in der höheren Positionsgenauigkeit. Daraus ergeben sich verschiedene Vorteile: Zu erwarten sind eine effizientere Abwicklung des Flugverkehrs, ein reduzierter Kerosinverbrauch, ein geringerer Schadstoffausstoss sowie weniger Lärmemissionen.

 

 

ci-innovation-01

 

Programm zur Weiterentwicklung von Flugverfahren

Das Bundesamt für Zivilluftfahrt, der Flughafen Zürich, Genève Aéroport, die Regionalflugplätze, die Swiss, Easyjet, die Luftwaffe und skyguide haben ein Innovationsprogramm zur Einführung neuer Flugverfahren auf Basis der Satellitennavigation geschaffen: CHIPS. CHIPS steht für Swiss-wide Implementation Program for SESAR oriented objectives, dient der Koordination der Projekte auf nationaler Ebene und schafft die Rahmenbedingungen für deren Umsetzung. Bislang wurden in der ganzen Schweiz über 20 Projektvorhaben im Zusammenhang mit innovativen Flugverfahren zusammengetragen. Einige davon wurden bereits umgesetzt, so zum Beispiel am Flughafen Zürich, auf den Flugplätzen St.Gallen-Altenrhein und Les Eplatures oder auf dem Inselspital in Bern.

 

Umfangreiche Basisarbeiten notwendig

Innovative Flugverfahren lassen sich nicht von heute auf morgen einführen. Bis zur Implementierung von satellitengestützten Verfahren müssen umfangreiche Basisarbeiten auf technischer und institutioneller Ebene geleistet werden. Es braucht zertifizierte Navigationstechniken am Boden und in der Luft. Zudem müssen auch die Benutzer und Betreiber mit ihren spezifischen Ausbildungsbedürfnissen und den sich verändernden Prozessen berücksichtigt werden.

 

Massgeschneiderte Lösungen

Jedes neue Verfahren ist individuell auf die Bedürfnisse der einzelnen Flugplätze und jeweiligen Luftraumbenutzer zugeschnitten. Skyguide unterstützt und berät die Auftraggeber (Flugplätze und Betreiber) bei ihren Entscheidungen hinsichtlich der Einführung neuer, satellitenbasierter Flugverfahren und sucht gemeinsam mit ihnen nach den bestmöglichen Lösungen.