EN
Back to all the news & media releases

iStream – Optimized arrival wave at Zurich Airport in cooperation with Swiss and Zurich Airport

As of October 13th the concept iStream will definitely be implemented in Zurich. After the successfully completed test phase, the concept is finally introduced. Involved in the project were mainly Swiss, Zurich Airport as well as skyguide.

The aim of the iStream test financed within the frame of the EU’s SESAR project is to optimize the arrivals in busy times. By using arrival time targets, the approach sequence is to be established at an early stage, thus enabling an efficient approach of all landing aircraft and avoiding holding patterns. This prevents unnecessary kerosene consumption, which also reduces CO2 emissions.

 

Together with Swiss and Flughafen Zürich AG as well as other airlines, skyguide has been testing the system for the optimization of approaches at Zurich Airport for one year since June 2015. The approach sequences of all flights were coordinated early in the morning between 06:00 and 07:00 o’clock by skyguide to ensure an optimized approach for each aircraft.

 

Drastic reduction of holding patterns

The test phase was extremely successful: With iStream, the number of holding patterns at Zurich Airport could be reduced by up to 96 percent and the flown route could be reduced by an average of 30 percent. As a result of the successful test phase, the concept will also become binding for all morning waves at Zurich Airport as of 13 October 2016. As a result, all airlines can now benefit from the positive overall effect.

 

In order to visualize the project, SWISS has produced an explanatory video in cooperation with Zurich Airport and skyguide. This video is now available on the Youtube page of SWISS:

 

 

In the future, the concept is also to be extended to further approach waves at Zurich Airport. A similar procedure for the optimization of the arrival wave is now also being tested for arrivals in Paris due to the successful test phase in Zurich.

DE
Zurück zu alle news & media releases

Optimierte Ankunftswelle am Flughafen Zürich zusammen mit Swiss und dem Flughafen Zürich

Konzept iStream wird ab 13. Oktober definitiv in Zürich implementiert. Nach der erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Versuchsphase wird das Konzept nun endgültig eingeführt. Am Projekt aktiv beteiligt waren massgeblich Swiss, der Flughafen Zürich und skyguide.

Das von der EU im Rahmen von SESAR mitfinanzierte Validierungsprojekt iStream hat zum Ziel, die Ankünfte in stark frequentierten Zeiten zu optimieren. Durch die Nutzung von Zeitvorgaben sollen die Anflugsequenz frühzeitig erstellt und somit ein effizienter Anflug aller landenden Flugzeuge ermöglicht und Warteschleifen vermieden werden. Dadurch wird unnötiger Kerosinverbrauch verhindert, wodurch sich auch die CO2-Emissionen reduzieren.

 

Zusammen mit Swiss und der Flughafen Zürich AG sowie weiteren Airlines hat skyguide seit Juni 2015 ein Jahr lang das System zur Optimierung der Anflüge am Flughafen Zürich getestet. Dabei sind die Anflugsequenzen aller Flüge am Morgen zwischen 06:00 und 07:00Uhr frühzeitig durch skyguide koordiniert worden, um einen optimierten Anflug für jedes Flugzeug sicherzustellen.

 

Drastische Reduktion der Warteschlaufen

Die Testphase verlief äusserst erfolgreich: Mit iStream konnte die Anzahl der Wartschleifen am Flughafen Zürich um bis zu 96 Prozent reduziert und die geflogene Anflugstrecke um durchschnittlich 30 Prozent verringert werden. Aufgrund der erfolgreichen Versuchsphase wird das Konzept ab 13. Oktober 2016 nun auch für sämtliche Anflüge der Morgenwelle am Flughafen Zürich verbindlich. Dadurch können nun alle Airlines profitieren und der positive Gesamteffekt wird noch weiter verstärkt.

 

Zur Visualiserung des Projektes hat SWISS in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Flughafen Zürich und skyguide ein Erklärvideo produziert. Dieses ist ab sofort auf der Youtube-Seite von SWISS verfügbar:

 

 

 

Zukünftig soll das Konzept auch auf weitere Anflugwellen am Flughafen Zürich ausgeweitet. Ein ähnliches Verfahren zur Optimierung der Ankunftswelle wird aufgrund der erfolgreichen Testphase in Zürich nun auch für Ankünfte in Paris getestet.