EN

Regional airports still proving difficult to finance

Regional airports still proving difficult to finance

 

Under Article 30 of the Swiss Federal Ordinance on the Provision of Air Navigation Services (VFSD), responsibility for the costs of air navigation services at Switzerland’s regional airports was to have passed from skyguide to the operators of these airports at the beginning of 2017. Such transfer is still being contested, in a process that also involves the FOCA and the DETEC.

 

Since 2017 Switzerland’s regional airports have been required to collect their own air traffic services charges, and have been entitled to apply for certain subsidies in return. The previous cross-subsidisation of the country’s regional airports through its international airports was terminated in compliance with the relevant Europe-wide regulations. This created a funding shortfall of CHF 7 million, which needs to be covered by various other means.

 

Skyguide shall reduce this shortfall by CHF 3 million by making cost economies without service reductions. The regional airports, for their part, have undertaken to effect CHF 3.5 million in savings via a “Road Map” of their own. Air traffic services charges at the country’s regional airports have also been increased by 10%. But the adoption of cost-reducing measures at regional airports, such as an aerodrome flight information service (AFIS) to replace the existing air traffic services, has proved difficult, for operating reasons and in view of flight safety considerations.

 

A new definition of Switzerland’s regional airport landscape

As part of the above Road Map, the Federal Office of Civil Aviation has embarked on an analysis that is intended to define the Swiss regional airport landscape. The study should clarify which regional airports provide services on the country’s behalf and should thus continue to be entitled to subsidies. The FOCA’s work continued through 2019; but its first findings and conclusions on the future Swiss regional airport landscape are not expected before the second quarter of 2020.

 

Next steps

DE

Schwierige Finanzierung der Regionalflugplätze

Schwierige Finanzierung der Regionalflugplätze

 

Die Verordnung über den Flugsicherungsdienst (VFSD) Art. 30 übertrug per Anfang 2017 die Verantwortung für die Kosten der Flugsicherungsdienste von skyguide an die Halter der regionalen Flugplätze. Um die Umsetzung der VFSD wird noch gerungen; BAZL und UVEK sind am Prozess beteiligt.

 

Seit 2017 müssen die Schweizer Regionalflugplätze die Flugsicherungsgebühren selber einziehen und können dafür gewisse Subventionen beantragen. Die Quersubventionierung von den Landesflughäfen zu den regionalen Flugplätzen wurde durch eine europaweit gültige Richtlinie beendet. Dadurch ist eine Finanzierungslücke von 7 Millionen CHF entstanden, die dank verschiedener Massnahmen gedeckt werden soll.

 

Skyguide soll diese Lücke mittels Einsparungen ohne Leistungsreduktionen um 3 Millionen CHF verringern. Die Regionalflugplätze wiederum verpflichteten sich im Rahmen einer sogenannten Roadmap, Einsparungen von 3,5 Millionen CHF zu erzielen. Zusätzlich wurden die Flugsicherungsgebühren auf den Regionalflugplätzen um 10 Prozent erhöht. Die Einführung von kostensenkenden Massnahmen auf den Regionalflugplätzen wie etwa Aerodrome Flight Information Service (AFIS) als Ersatz für den bestehenden Flugsicherungsdienst erweist sich aus operationellen Gründen oder wegen der Flugsicherheit als schwierig.

 

Neudefinition der Flugplatzlandschaft Schweiz

Als Teil der genannten Roadmap startete das Bundesamt für Zivilluftfahrt eine Analyse zur Definition der Flugplatzlandschaft Schweiz. Diese soll klären, welche Regionalflugplätze Dienstleistungen im Interesse des Bundes erbringen und damit auch zukünftig Anrecht auf Subventionen haben. Die Arbeiten dauerten im Berichtsjahr an. Erste Ergebnisse zur künftigen Flugplatzlandschaft Schweiz werden nicht vor dem zweiten Quartal 2020 erwartet.

 

Weiteres Vorgehen