EN

Military & Defence

Skyguide plays a major role in safeguarding the sovereignty of Swiss airspace. The company provides military air navigation services on behalf of the Swiss Air Force. And aerial policing and guiding military aircraft on training exercises from its Air Defence & Direction Centre are among its daily tasks.

The protection of the Swiss air space is guaranteed in collaboration of the Swiss Air Force. When an unknown aircraft penetrates Swiss airspace, the air police is immediately on the spot under the guidance of skyguide’s military air traffic controllers. These also deploy military aircraft from the air force airfields and help the military pilots with their tactical air combat exercises.

 

Air policing is currently the prime mandate of the Swiss Air Force. Any unknown aircraft entering Swiss airspace must be swiftly identified – even in adverse weather – and intercepted if necessary. This air policing secures the integrity and sovereignty of Swiss airspace, and supports the country’s air traffic management – skyguide – where necessary.

 

To perform this mandate, the practice to date has been to take patrols from ongoing exercises and turn them into live or hot missions. No permanent “quick reaction alert” capability has been available. Starting from 2017, skyguide will also provide services to the Air Force over the weekend. In the framework of the project LP24 (LP for Luftpolizei or Air police) the time of operations will stepwise be increased to 24 hours per day until 2020. Training activities for military air traffic controllers are therefore at full capacity.

 

LP24 missions are highly complex since preparation is short but coordination needs with different stakeholders very high. Most missions occur in the civil airspace and are managed by military skyguide ATCOs.

 

Skyguide is affected here at the Payerne, Emmen, Meiringen air force bases and at its Air Defence and Direction Centre (ADDC). The various processes involved here have been reappraised in close collaboration with the Swiss Air Force and modified where necessary. The greatest challenge for skyguide in all these developments will be to ensure that it has the personnel numbers needed to provide the services that the Swiss Air Force will in future require to perform this air policing function.

 

Our air traffic controllers are assigned to:

  • either tower and approach control duties at seven military airfields: Alpnach, Dübendorf, Emmen, Meiringen, and Payerne aerodromes, as well as at Locarno and Sion airports, where the air traffic is both civil and military,
  • or to fighter control duties in the military Air Defense and Direction Center (ADDC) located in our air navigation service center in Dübendorf.

 

 

Air traffic control service

 

Air traffic controllers in the tower and approach control ensure the safe and fluid handling of air traffic at military airports. They monitor and coordinate arriving and departing aircraft and helicopters as well as taxiing operations.

Military air traffic controllers in the tower regulate air traffic that is very fast, on short notice and unpredictable.

 

Military fighter jets, training aircraft and helicopters must be integrated with one another and with any civil air traffic, such as overflights, heavy transport flights and paragliders. The complexity can therefore increase dramatically in a short period of time, which demands rapid comprehension and a high level of concentration. For military approach control, the many different approach types, including radar, military instrument landing system or GPS-based approaches, are an exciting and constantly changing challenge.

 

 

services_military_091

 

 

Air Defense & Direction Center (ADDC)

 

When working in the ADDC, air traffic controllers are called “fighter controllers” and use their highly-specialised expertise to support air force pilots in tactical air combat exercises. They also manage all military aircraft in transit flights within Switzerland. Like civil air traffic controllers, fighter controllers monitor the airspace on radar consoles.

 

The ADDC also helps the air police with the critical task of recognising aircraft with a questionable identity. The visual representation of the air traffic – the so-called “recognised air picture” – is precisely drafted in the ADDC. This visual overview shows the sovereign airspace with all aircraft moving within it, and is produced with primary and secondary radar equipment.

 

Specific deployment procedures are used in air defence training, such as the protection of a given area during a specified period, e.g. the World Economic Forum in Davos.

 

services_military_101

DE

Militär & Verteidigung

Skyguide spielt eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Wahrung der Souveränität des Schweizer Luftraums. Sie vollzieht die militärische Flugsicherung im Auftrag der Schweizer Luftwaffe. Der Luftpolizeidienst und die Führung der Kampfflugzeuge bei Trainingseinsätzen aus der militärischen Einsatzzentrale heraus gehören zu den täglichen Aufgaben.

Der Schutz des Schweizer Luftraumes wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Luftwaffe sichergestellt.  Wenn ein unbekanntes Luftfahrzeug in den Schweizer Luftraum eindringt, dann ist die Luftpolizei mit Unterstützung der militärischen FlugverkehrsleiterInnen von skyguide sofort zur Stelle. Diese leiten auch Militärflugzeuge von den Air Basen der Luftwaffe zu den Einsatzorten und unterstützen die PilotInnen bei ihren taktischen Luftkampfübungen.

 

Der Luftpolizeidienst ist heute eine Hauptaufgabe der Schweizer Luftwaffe. Unbekannte Flugzeuge müssen kurzfristig und bei jeder Wetterlage identifiziert und nötigenfalls abgefangen werden können. Der Luftpolizeidienst sichert die Integrität und Souveränität des nationalen Luftraumes und unterstützt die Flugsicherung wo nötig.

 

Zur Erfüllung dieser Aufgabe wurden bis heute Patrouillen aus laufenden Übungen abgezogen und auf eine Live- oder Hot-Mission angesetzt. Eine permanente Einsatzbereitschaft (Quick Reaction Alert) bestand bisher nicht.

Ab 2017 steht skyguide auch an den Wochenenden für die Luftwaffe im Einsatz. Die Betriebszeiten werden bis 2020 im Rahmen des Projekts LP24 schrittweise auf 24-Stunden pro Tag erhöht. Dafür läuft die Ausbildung neuer Flugverkehrsleiterinnen und –leiter auf voller Kapazität weiter.

 

LP24 Einsätze sind äusserst komplex, da die Vorbereitungszeiten sehr kurz und der Koordinationsaufwand mit anderen Stellen gross ist. Die meisten Missionen finden im zivilen Luftraum statt und werden durch die militärischen Flugverkehrsleiterinnen und –leiter von skyguide geführt.

 

Skyguide ist davon auf den Luftwaffenbasen Payerne, Emmen, Meiringen und der militärischen Einsatzzentrale in Dübendorf betroffen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Luftwaffe wurden die Prozesse überprüft und wo nötig angepasst. Die grösste Herausforderung für skyguide ist die Sicherstellung des künftig benötigten Personalbestandes, um die von der LW geforderte Leistung permanent erbringen zu können.

 

Den FlugverkehrsleiterInnen werden unterschiedliche Aufgaben zugewiesen:

  • im Tower/Approach Control auf sieben Air Basen: in Alpnach, Dübendorf, Emmen, Meiringen und Payerne sowie auf den Flugplätzen von Locarno und Sion mit gemischtem zivil-militärischen Flugverkehr,
  • oder im Jägerleitdienst der militärischen Einsatzzentrale (ADDC) im Flugsicherungszentrum in Wangen bei Dübendorf.

 

 

Flugsicherungsdienst

 

In der Platz- und Anflugverkehrsleitung (Tower und Radar) der Militärflugplätze gewährleisten die FlugverkehrsleiterInnen eine sichere und flüssige Abwicklung des Flugverkehrs. Sie überwachen und koordinieren an- und abfliegende Flugzeuge und Helikopter sowie den Rollverkehr.

 

Die militärische Flugsicherung im Tower regelt einen sehr schnellen, kurzfristigen und unplanbaren Flugverkehr. Militärische Kampfjets, Trainingsflugzeuge und Helikopter müssen untereinander und in  jeglichen zivilen Flugverkehr wie Überflüge, Lastenflüge, Gleitschirme, integriert werden. Daher kann sich die Komplexität in kurzer Zeit extrem steigern, was eine schnelle Auffassungsgabe und hohe Konzentration voraussetzt. Für die militärische Anflugverkehrsleitung sind die vielen verschiedenen Anflugtypen, unter anderem Radar, militärisches Instrumentenlandesystem oder GPS basierende Anflüge, immer wieder aufs Neue eine spannende Herausforderung.

 

 

 

 

Einsatzzentrale (ADDC)

 

Die FlugverkehrsleiterInnen in der militärischen Einsatzzentrale (ADDC) werden „Fighter Controller“ genannt. Mit ihrem hochspezialisierten Fachwissen unterstützen sie die PilotInnen der Schweizer Luftwaffe bei taktischen Luftkampfübungen. Ausserdem leiten sie alle militärischen Transitflüge innerhalb der Schweiz. Wie die zivilen FlugverkehrsleiterInnen überwachen auch die Fighter Controller den Luftraum über Radarkonsolen.

 

Die militärische Einsatzzentrale unterstützt auch den Luftpolizeidienst bei der wichtigen Aufgabe, Luftfahrzeuge mit einer unklaren Identität zu identifizieren. In der militärischen Einsatzzentrale wird die visuelle Darstellung des Flugverkehrs erstellt, das so genannte „Recognised Air Picture““. Die visuelle Gesamtansicht wird mit Hilfe von Primär- und Sekundärradaranlagen erstellt und zeigt den hoheitlichen Luftraum mit allen sich darin bewegenden Flugzeugen.

 

Beim Training der Luftverteidigung werden spezifische Abläufe eines Einsatzes geübt, wie die Verteidigung eines bestimmten Gebiets über einen festgelegten Zeitraum, z. B. während des Weltwirtschaftsforums in Davos.

 

services_military_101