EN

Energy efficiency gains through digitization

Digitalisation delivers more energy efficiency

 

Europe’s airspace is still structured along strongly national lines. Every country has its own airspace, which is managed and monitored by its own air navigation services provider. And each of these ANSPs develops and maintains its own systems and infrastructures.

 

The present arrangement has long been far from ideal. Digitalisation is rapidly extending to the air navigation services world, too. And today’s technologies offer new ways and means of making air traffic management both safer and more efficient.

 

 

In future, the continent’s air navigation services providers will focus more on managing their airspace, says skyguide’s Chief Information Officer Klaus Meier, while obtaining their data and further services from external providers. This will offer benefits not only in safety and capacity terms, but also in terms of their energy efficiency. For further infor­mation on the digitalisation of European airspace, techno­logical change at skyguide and the internationally pioneer­ing Virtual Centre project, see the video interview with skyguide’s CIO.

FR
Retour aux un gain d’efficacité énergétique grâce à la numérisation

Un gain d’efficacité énergétique grâce à la numérisation

Un gain d’efficacité énergétique grâce à la numérisation

 

L’espace aérien européen reste très tributaire des frontières nationales: chaque pays a son espace aérien, qu’il fait contrôler par ses propres services de navigation aérienne. Et chaque service développe ses systèmes et infrastructures et en assure la maintenance.

 

Ce modèle est dépassé depuis longtemps. Le monde de l’aviation se numérise lui aussi et la technologie actuelle offre de nouvelles possibilités pour rendre la gestion du trafic aérien plus sûre et plus efficace.

 

 

À l’avenir, les services de la navigation aérienne se concentreront davantage sur la gestion de l’espace aérien et se tourneront vers des fournisseurs externes pour la fourniture de données et de prestations; Chief Information Officer de skyguide, Klaus Meier en est convaincu. Il s’exprime dans une vidéo sur la numérisation de l’espace aérien européen, la transition technologique chez skyguide et le programme pionnier de Centre virtuel, une réorientation bénéfique non seulement en termes de sécurité et de capacité, mais aussi d’efficacité énergétique.