EN

Appeal by air traffic controller upheld by Federal Tribunal – accusations dismissed

Geneva, November 8, 2019 – The Swiss Federal Tribunal has upheld the appeal lodged by a skyguide air traffic controller thereby clearing him of any allegations of negligent disruption of public transport. Skyguide takes note of this judgement with satisfaction.

On 15 March 2011, at 12.40 p.m., two aircraft were cleared at Zurich Airport in rapid succession and began the departure on runways 16 and 28. The aircraft on runway 16 took off as scheduled, while the aircraft on runway 28 aborted its departure. The air traffic controller involved in the incident voluntarily reported this incident, which caused neither personal injury nor property damage, and thus actively contributed to clarifying the background.

 

Nevertheless, criminal proceedings were started against him. In December 2014 and April 2016, he had to answer to the Bülach District Court for disrupting public transport and was acquitted there. The public prosecutor’s office appealed against this and referred the case to the Zurich Superior Court. The latter found the air traffic controller guilty in December 2018. The air traffic controller successfully appealed against this ruling to the Federal Tribunal in Lausanne.

 

Despite this gratifying acquittal, skyguide is convinced that Swiss law must provide a framework for the “Just Culture” safety culture that is practised in aviation. This enables employees to report errors without having to fear disciplinary consequences, provided that they have not been committed intentionally or through gross negligence. From these voluntary, honest and comprehensive reports, the organization can quickly derive improvements and take action. Skyguide continues to adhere to this “just culture” in order to ensure safe and efficient air navigation services in Switzerland in the future.

DE

Beschwerde von Fluglotse durch Bundesgericht gutgeheissen – von Vorwürfen freigesprochen

Genf, 8. November 2019 – Das Bundesgericht hat die Beschwerde eines Flugverkehrsleiters von skyguide gutgeheissen und diesen vom Vorwurf der fahrlässigen Störung des öffentlichen Verkehrs freigesprochen. Skyguide nimmt dieses Urteil mit Genugtuung und Zufriedenheit zur Kenntnis.

Am 15. März 2011 um 12.40 Uhr erhielten am Flughafen Zürich zwei Maschinen kurz nacheinander eine Freigabe und setzten zum Start auf den sich kreuzenden Pisten 16 und 28 an. Die Maschine auf Piste 16 startete wie vorgesehen, während die Maschine auf Piste 28 den Start abbrach. Der am Vorfall beteiligte Flugverkehrsleiter meldete diesen Vorfall, der weder zu Personen- noch zu Sachschaden führte, freiwillig und trug damit aktiv zur Aufklärung der Hintergründe bei.

 

Dennoch wurde gegen ihn ein Strafverfahren eingeleitet. Er musste sich im Dezember 2014 und im April 2016 vor dem Bezirksgericht Bülach wegen Störung des öffentlichen Verkehrs verantworten und wurde dort freigesprochen. Dagegen rekurrierte die Staatsanwaltschaft und zog den Fall an das Zürcher Obergericht weiter. Dieses sprach den Flugverkehrsleiter im Dezember 2018 schuldig. Gegen dieses Urteil reichte der Flugverkehrsleiter beim Bundesgericht in Lausanne erfolgreich Beschwerde ein.

 

Trotz dieses erfreulichen Freispruchs ist skyguide davon überzeugt, dass für die in der Aviatik gelebte Sicherheitskultur „Just Culture“ im Schweizer Gesetz ein Rahmen fixiert werden muss. „Just Culture“ ermöglicht es Mitarbeitenden, Fehler zu melden, ohne disziplinarische Konsequenzen befürchten zu müssen, sofern diese nicht mutwillig oder grobfahrlässig begangen wurden. Aus diesen freiwilligen, ehrlichen und umfassenden Meldungen kann die Organisation rasch Verbesserungen ableiten und Massnahmen ergreifen. An dieser „Just Culture“ hält skyguide auch weiterhin fest, um auch künftig eine sichere und effiziente Flugsicherung in der Schweiz zu gewährleisten.