EN

Energy efficiency gains through digitization

Digitalisation delivers more energy efficiency

 

Europe’s airspace is still structured along strongly national lines. Every country has its own airspace, which is managed and monitored by its own air navigation services provider. And each of these ANSPs develops and maintains its own systems and infrastructures.

 

The present arrangement has long been far from ideal. Digitalisation is rapidly extending to the air navigation services world, too. And today’s technologies offer new ways and means of making air traffic management both safer and more efficient.

 

 

In future, the continent’s air navigation services providers will focus more on managing their airspace, says skyguide’s Chief Information Officer Klaus Meier, while obtaining their data and further services from external providers. This will offer benefits not only in safety and capacity terms, but also in terms of their energy efficiency. For further infor­mation on the digitalisation of European airspace, techno­logical change at skyguide and the internationally pioneer­ing Virtual Centre project, see the video interview with skyguide’s CIO.

DE
Zurück zu alle mehr energieeffizienz dank digitalisierung

Mehr Energieeffizienz dank Digitalisierung

Mehr Energieeffizienz dank Digitalisierung

 

Heute ist der europäische Luftraum nach wie vor stark national ausgerichtet: Jedes Land verfügt über seinen eigenen Luftraum, für dessen Überwachung die nationale Flugsicherung zuständig ist. Dabei entwickelt und unterhält jede Flugsicherung ihre eigenen Systeme und Infrastrukturen.

 

Zeitgemäss ist das schon lange nicht mehr. Die Digitalisierung hält auch Einzug in die Welt der Flugsicherung. Die heutige Technologie eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten, um das Flugverkehrsmanagement sicherer und effizienter zu gestalten.

 

 

In Zukunft werden sich Flugsicherungen mehr auf das Management des Luftraums konzentrieren, während Daten und Dienstleistungen von externen Anbietern bezogen werden. Davon ist Klaus Meier, Chief Information Officer von skyguide, überzeugt. Das birgt nicht nur Vorteile hinsichtlich Sicherheit und Kapazität, sondern auch punkto Energieeffizienz. Mehr zur Digitalisierung des europäischen Luftraums, zum technologischen Wandel bei skyguide sowie zum Virtual Centre als internationalem Pionierprojekt im Video-Interview.