EN
Back to all the news & media releases

Klaus Affholderbach named skyguide’s new Chief Safety Officer

Klaus Affholderbach has been appointed as skyguide’s new Chief Safety Officer and Member of the Executive Board. In his new capacity he will be responsible both for technical flight safety and for physical and information security throughout the skyguide organisation.

Klaus Affholderbach is a Doctor of Science, and has worked and researched in high-energy physics at CERN in Geneva. He joined skyguide in 2001 and has since held various positions within the company including Head of Air Traffic Management Geneva, Head of International Airports (i.e. Zurich and Geneva) and, most recently, Head of Virtual Centre, with responsibility for all upper airspace areas. In his new Chief Safety Officer capacity he succeeds Simon Maurer, who is leaving to embark on a new professional challenge.

 

“It has always been clear to me that Safety & Security must remain represented on our new Executive Board,” says skyguide CEO Alex Bristol. “And in Klaus Affholderbach we have found a new CSO who combines experience in various areas of our operations and their safety requirements with strong theoretical and analytical skills.”

DE
Zurück zu alle news & media releases

Klaus Affholderbach wird neuer Chief Safety Officer bei skyguide

Klaus Affholderbach wird neuer Chief Safety Officer und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von skyguide. In dieser Funktion zeichnet er verantwortlich sowohl für die technische Flugsicherheit (Safety) sowie für die physische und die Informationssicherheit (Security).

Klaus Affholderbach ist Doktor der Naturwissenschaften und hat in der Hochenergiephysik am CERN gearbeitet und geforscht. Er ist seit 2001 in verschiedenen Funktionen bei skyguide. Er war unter anderem verantwortlich für die Flugsicherung am Standort Genf, danach für die beiden internationalen Flughäfen (Zürich und Genf) und zuletzt für den gesamten oberen Luftraum (Virtual Centre). Er löst intern den bisherigen CSO Simon Maurer ab, der eine berufliche Veränderung anstrebt.

 

Alex Bristol CEO: „Es war für mich immer klar, dass Safety und Security weiter in der Geschäftsleitung vertreten sein müssen. Mit Klaus Affholderbach haben wir einen CSO gefunden, der die Erfahrung aus verschiedenen Betriebseinheiten und deren Bedürfnisse mit einem starken theoretisch-analytischen Vermögen verbindet.“