EN

More traffic, increased punctuality: positive traffic balance in the first half of 2019

Skyguide, Switzerland’s air navigation service provider (ANSP), operated and monitored 631’424 civil instrument flight rules (IFR) flights in the first six months of 2019, a 2.8% increase on the same period last year. Despite the steady traffic increase, skyguide achieved an excellent operating performance in the first half of 2019. 97.2% of all flights were handled without delay by air traffic control in Europe's most complex airspace.

More flights handled

The amount of flights handled by skyguide increased by about 3% month-on-month, in the first half of 2019. The biggest increase was recorded in February, with 3.6%. The growth recorded in the first half of the year is higher than the European average (ECAC countries, +1.7%), Eurocontrol’s measures of summer 2019, aimed at reducing delays in overloaded ACCs in Germany, France and Austria, are routing a certain amount of traffic through Switzerland.

 

Eurocontrol’s STATFOR-sourced statistics reveal strong variations between traffic categories within the airspace managed by skyguide in the first half of 2019. These variations are in line with those observed at the ECAC level, except for the all-cargo segment, which records the highest growth of all market segments within Switzerland

(-5.3% on the ECAC level).

 

First-half flight movement trends by category (airspace managed by skyguide)

 

The en-route traffic handled in the first half of 2019 rose by 4.8%, an increase of 0.7% over the same period last year. The number of movements (takeoffs and landings) controlled throughout Switzerland, on the other hand, has decreased (-0.8%). Zurich airport records a rise of 1.2% in IFR movements, whereas Geneva airport records a small decrease (-0.2%). The traffic handled at Switzerland’s regional airports shows a large decrease (-17.3%), due to SkyWorks ceasing operations in Bern-Belp at the end of August 2018.

 

Skyguide’s Geneva and Dübendorf area control centres (ACCs) are both increasing, with +2.7% and +2.6% respectively.

 

Skyguide’s busiest day to date in the first half of 2019 was Friday 28 June, when a total of 4,522 flights were handled.

2019 first-half movements by area control centre and airport:

Higher traffic volumes and higher punctuality

Despite the higher amount of traffic, skyguide maintained an excellent operating performance in the first half of 2019. 97.2% of all flights were handled without delay.

 

Most capacity-related air traffic control delays are incurred during peak periods. En-route delay per flight during the first six months of 2019 decreased by 60.4% year-on-year. 45.8% of this delay is attributable to weather conditions. 46.5% of the delay is attributable to traffic loads that were much higher than traffic forecasts, resulting in a lack of capacity on the one hand, and insufficient staffing on the other. 7.4% of the delay is due to staff illness.

DE

Mehr Verkehr, erhöhte Pünktlichkeit: positive Verkehrsbilanz im ersten Halbjahr 2019

Die Schweizer Flugsicherung skyguide hat in den ersten sechs Monaten des Jahres 2019 631'424 zivile Flüge nach Instrumentenflugregeln (IFR) überwacht, was einer Steigerung von 2,8% gegenüber dem Vorjahreszeitraum entspricht. Trotz des stetigen Verkehrswachstums erzielte skyguide im ersten Halbjahr 2019 eine ausgezeichnete operative Leistung. 97,2% aller Flüge wurden ohne Verzögerung von der Flugsicherung im komplexesten Luftraum Europas abgewickelt.

Mehr Flüge abgewickelt
Im ersten Halbjahr 2019 stieg die Anzahl der von skyguide kontrollierten Flüge gegenüber dem Vormonat um rund 3%. Der stärkste Anstieg wurde im Februar mit 3,6% verzeichnet. Das Wachstum im ersten Halbjahr liegt über dem europäischen Durchschnitt (ECAC-Länder, +1,7%). Die von Eurocontrol für den Sommer dieses Jahres eingeführten Massnahmen (eNM-Massnahmen zur zentralen Verkehrsflusssteuerung), die darauf abzielen, Verzögerungen wegen überlasteter Kontrollstellen in Deutschland, Frankreich und Österreich zu vermeiden, führen zu grösserem Verkehrsaufkommen durch die Schweiz.

 

Wie die von Eurocontrol stammenden Statistiken (STATFOR) zeigen, weist die Verkehrsentwicklung im ersten Halbjahr 2019 auch innerhalb des von skyguide kontrollierten Luftraums starke Unterschiede zwischen den Verkehrskategorien auf. Diese Schwankungen entsprechen denen auf ECAC-Ebene, mit Ausnahme des reinen Kargosegments, das das höchste Wachstum aller Marktsegmente innerhalb der Schweiz aufweist (-5,3% auf ECAC-Ebene).


Verkehrsentwicklung nach Segment (von skyguide kontrollierter Luftraum)

Die Überflüge (en route) nahmen im ersten Halbjahr 2019 gegenüber dem Vergleichszeitraum um +4,8% zu. Dagegen ist die Anzahl der kontrollierten Starts und Landungen in der Schweiz zurückgegangen (-0,8%). Der Flughafen Zürich verzeichnet einen Anstieg um 1,2%, während der Flughafen Genf einen leichten Rückgang verzeichnet (-0,2%). Der Verkehr an den Schweizer Regionalflughäfen ist stark rückläufig (-17,3%), nachdem SkyWorks Ende August 2018 den Betrieb in Bern-Belp eingestellt hat.

 

Die Bezirksleitstellen Genf und Dübendorf wachsen beide mit 2,7% bzw. 2,6%.

 

Der verkehrsreichste Tag der skyguide im ersten Halbjahr 2019 war Freitag, der 28. Juni, an dem insgesamt 4’522 Flüge abgefertigt wurden.

 

Flugbewegungen nach Bezirksleitstelle und Flughafen im ersten Halbjahr 2019:

Höheres Verkehrsaufkommen, höhere Pünktlichkeit
Trotz des höheren Verkehrsaufkommens konnte skyguide im ersten Halbjahr 2019 eine ausgezeichnete operative Performance erzielen. 97,2% aller Flüge wurden ohne Verspätung durchgeführt.

 

Die meisten kapazitätsbedingten Verspätungen der Flugsicherung treten in Spitzenzeiten auf. Die Verspätungen pro Flug im Streckenflug sanken im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um 60,4%. 45,8% dieser Verzögerung sind wetterbedingt. 46,5% der Verspätung sind auf Verkehrsbelastungen zurückzuführen, die deutlich höher waren als der prognostizierte Verkehr, was einerseits zu Verspätungen aufgrund von Kapazitätsmangel und andererseits wegen zu wenig geplantem Personal führte. 7,4% der Verspätung sind auf krankheitsbedingte Ausfälle von Personal zurückzuführen.