EN

Skyguide in 2017: strong earnings reduced by pension scheme provision; pioneering innovatory role in the drone segment

Skyguide, Switzerland’s air navigation services provider, raised its annual earnings in the 2017 financial year. The company’s operational performance in Europe’s most complex airspace was also highly satisfactory. With 97.0% of its flights handled without delays, skyguide retained its punctuality almost at its very high 97.2% prior-year level. In the en-route segment, the average delay amounted to 0.17 minutes or around ten seconds per flight.

Skyguide’s total operating revenue for 2017 amounted to CHF 470.3 million, a 3.4% improvement on the CHF 455.0 million of the previous year. Total operating expenses were up 13.8%, from the CHF 422.4 million of 2016 to CHF 480.8 million. Earnings before interest and taxes for the year were negative at CHF -10.5 million (compared to a positive CHF 32.6 million for 2016), owing to a one-off CHF 53.0 million provision in respect of the skycare company pension scheme.

 

More traffic, higher revenues and greater operating expense

Skyguide saw a further 3.2% increase in its annual traffic volumes, which rose to almost 1.24 million controlled flights. The traffic growth is partially attributable to the relatively low oil price, economic recovery in the Eurozone and Europe’s improved security situation.

 

Skyguide raised its route charges 0.1% in 2017. Approach charges for the international airports of Geneva and Zurich were reduced by 0.9% to the benefit of its customers.

“Our 2017 operating and financial results are basically sound, and confirm the sustainable impact of the actions we have taken over the past few years,” says Walter T. Vogel, Chairman of the Skyguide Board of Directors. “While our bottom-line result is ultimately a negative one, this is due to the one-off provision for our company pension scheme. To ensure that we remain on track, we will continue to specifically deploy our resources to promote advanced training, sustainable capacity development and innovative technologies and procedures.”

 

Skyguide’s innovation attracts international attention

Skyguide announced a new strategic partnership with AirMap at the World ATM Congress in Madrid at the beginning of this month. The collaboration will establish the first national platform for integrating drones into urban airspace (U-Space). The project, which is the first of its kind in Europe, attracted sizeable attention. The new system should be up and running by next year.

 

 

Several personnel changes on the Executive Board and Board of Directors

The Skyguide Executive Board has seen a number of personnel changes over the past few months, with four new members joining its ranks. Alex Bristol was appointed CEO with effect from 1 July 2017. He was succeeded as Head of Operations (COO) by Urs Lauener. Klaus Affholderbach took over as Head of Safety, Security & Quality (CSO) on 1 January 2018. Myriam Käser joined the company as Head of Communications at the end of February 2018. And Nicole Leyre will join the Executive Board as the new Head of Finance (CFO) on 1 July 2018. The company also saw a change on its Board of Directors last year, where Res Schmid was elected to its ranks.

 

Skyguide remains well positioned. And, as a result, the company will be able to continue to sustainably pursue its adopted strategy through a phase of major technological change.

DE

Betriebsergebnis des Geschäftsjahrs 2017 durch Rentenfonds-Rückstellung geschmälert. Europäische Pionier-Rolle als Innovator im Drohnenbereich.

Das Flugsicherungsunternehmen skyguide erzielte im Geschäftsjahr 2017 gestiegene Betriebserträge. Die operative Leistung im komplexesten Luftraum Europas ist auf einem sehr befriedigenden Niveau. Mit 97,0 Prozent verzögerungsfreien Flügen hält sich die sehr hohe Pünktlichkeit gegenüber dem Vorjahr (97,2 Prozent) auf einem ähnlichen Niveau. Im Streckenflug betrug die durchschnittliche Verspätung pro Flug 0,17 Minuten oder rund 10 Sekunden pro Flug.

Der Umsatz der skyguide erhöhte sich im vergangenen Jahr um 3,4 Prozent auf CHF 470,3 Mio. (Vorjahr: CHF 455,0 Mio.). Der Betriebsaufwand nahm mit CHF 480,8 Mio. um 13,8 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr (CHF 422,4 Mio.) zu. Das Betriebsergebnis (EBIT) fiel aufgrund einer ausserordentlichen Rückstellung in der Höhe von CHF 53,0 Mio. für die Pensionskasse skycare mit einem Minus von CHF 10,5 Mio. (Vorjahr: CHF 32,6 Mio.) negativ aus.

 

Verkehrszunahme, mehr Umsatz, höherer Betriebsaufwand

Skyguide konnte 2017 eine erneute Verkehrszunahme von 3,2 Prozent verzeichnen. Dies entspricht einem Jahresverkehrsvolumen von fast 1,24 Millionen kontrollierten Flügen. Zur Verkehrszunahme haben der auch 2017 relativ tiefe Ölpreis, die wirtschaftliche Erholung der Eurozone sowie die verbesserte Sicherheitslage in Europa beigetragen.

 

Im vergangenen Jahr erhöhte skyguide die Streckenfluggebühren um 0,1 Prozent. Die Anfluggebühren auf den Landesflughäfen Genf und Zürich konnten um 0,9 Prozent zu Gunsten der Kunden gesenkt werden.

 

Leistungsvertrag mit Luftwaffe erfüllt

Skyguide hat auch 2017 den Leistungsvertrag mit der Luftwaffe erneut vollumfänglich erfüllt. Damit hat das Unternehmen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Souveränität des Schweizer Luftraums geleistet und sich als zuverlässiger Partner der Schweizer Luftwaffe bewiesen.

 

Walter T. Vogel, Verwaltungsratspräsident von skyguide:

«Das operative und finanzielle Ergebnis ist grundsätzlich solide und bestätigt die nachhaltige Wirksamkeit der in den vergangenen Jahren eingeleiteten Massnahmen. Durch die ausserordentliche Rückstellung in die Pensionskasse fällt die Rechnung am Schluss negativ aus. Um auf Kurs zu bleiben, setzen wir unsere Mittel weiterhin gezielt in eine fortschrittliche Ausbildung, nachhaltige Kapazitätsentwicklung und innovative Technologien und Verfahren.»

 

Innovation von skyguide sorgt für internationale Aufmerksamkeit

Am World ATM Kongress in Madrid von Anfang März 2018 machte skyguide eine strategische Partnerschaft mit AirMap bekannt, um die erste nationale Plattform zur Integration von Drohnen in den urbanen Luftraum (U-Space) aufzubauen. Die Aufmerksamkeit war entsprechend gross, handelt es sich dabei doch um ein in dieser Art einmaliges Projekt in Europa. Die Einführung des Systems ist per 2019 geplant.

 

 

Mehrere personelle Wechsel in der Geschäftsleitung und VR

In den vergangenen Monaten hat sich die Zusammensetzung der Geschäftsleitung von skyguide signifikant verändert. Gleich vier Mitglieder sind neu im Führungsteam von skyguide. Alex Bristol wurde per 1. Juli 2017 zum CEO ernannt. Seine Nachfolge als Leiter Operationen (COO) trat Urs Lauener an. Als neuer Leiter Safety, Security, Quality (CSO) amtet seit 1. Januar 2018 Klaus Affholderbach und mit Myriam Käser hat skyguide seit Ende Februar 2018 eine neue Kommunikationsleiterin. Zudem wird per 1. Juli 2018 Nicole Leyre als neue Finanzchefin zu skyguide stossen. Ebenfalls seit letztem Jahr ist Res Schmid neu im Verwaltungsrat der Schweizer Flugsicherung.

 

Das Unternehmen ist nach wie vor gut positioniert, was die Fortführung der eingeschlagenen Strategie in einer Phase, in der sich skyguide in einem grossen technologischen Umbau befindet, nachhaltig unterstützt.