EN

Drones employed for regular maintenance of instrument landing systems (ILS) result in environmental and economic benefits

While an increasing number of drones using lower airspace pose additional safety challenges, they also create new opportunities for innovation. Skyguide launched a project to use drones for maintenance of automatic landing systems at airports in 2016. Since January of this year, a specially equipped drone is operational at Zurich and Geneva airport. With this innovative approach, skyguide will in the mid-term be able to considerably reduce costs and environmental impact.

Automatic landing systems provide pilots with precision guidance for a safe approach and landing on the runway under conditions of reduced visibility. These systems have to be calibrated at Swiss airports every six months. This is currently performed by means of calibration flights operated at various heights and angles. An aircraft with specialized equipment is flown in from Germany for this purpose. This is expensive, and causes greenhouse gas emissions and noise during low traffic periods, usually during the night at international airports.

 

Specially equipped drone in use in Zurich and Geneva
“By employing drones to check automatic landing systems, skyguide will be able to significantly reduce costs and operational disturbance as well as CO2 and noise emissions”, says Hervé Demule, navigation engineer and project leader. Drones for regular preventive and corrective maintenance of the instrument landing system (ILS) are in use since January 2018 at Zurich and Geneva airports, and will be deployed to regional airports in the second half of this year. Additionally, a deployment to other Navigation Aid Systems is also being considered.

 

Hervé Demule further says: “We are now collecting data to ensure stable and precise measurement results. By the end of 2019 and once measurement accuracy and correlation to flight check have been confirmed, skyguide intends to reduce calibration flights performed by aircraft”.

 

Number of calibration flights halved by 2020
By using drones equipped with measuring instruments, the number of ILS calibration flights and their measurement programmes will be reduced by 50 per cent from 2020 and by 70 per cent from 2023, thus cutting CO2 emissions by 142 tons per year from 2020. From 2023, a reduction of 199 tons of CO2 will be realised per year, according to skyguide’s forecast.

 

Skyguide experts will be presenting their innovative solution on Thursday 19 April at the International Flight Inspection Symposium IFIS in Monterey, California. More information at: https://www.ion.org/ifis/abstracts.cfm?paperID=5590

FR

Bénéfices environnementaux et économiques du recours aux drones pour la maintenance des systèmes d’atterrissage aux instruments

Les drones toujours plus nombreux représentent un nouveau défi pour la sécurité, mais offrent aussi de nouvelles possibilités en termes d’innovation. Skyguide a lancé en 2016 un projet d’utilisation de drones pour la maintenance des systèmes d’atterrissage automatique. Depuis janvier de cette année, un drone doté d'un équipement spécial est opérationnel aux aéroports de Zurich et de Genève. Par cette approche novatrice, skyguide prévoit à moyen terme de réduire à la fois ses coûts et l’impact sur l’environnement de manière substantielle.

Les systèmes d’atterrissage automatique fournissent aux pilotes un guidage de précision pour une approche et un atterrissage sur piste en toute sécurité en conditions de visibilité réduite. Or dans les aéroports de Suisse, ces systèmes doivent être calibrés tous les six mois. Cette opération s’effectue au moyen de vols de calibration réalisés à différentes altitudes et selon différents angles. Un avion doté d’un équipement spécifique doit être affrété spécialement depuis l’Allemagne. Il s’agit d’une opération coûteuse génératrice d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre et de bruit durant les périodes de faible trafic, généralement pendant la nuit dans le cas des aéroports internationaux.

 

Un drone spécialement équipé déjà opérationnel à Zurich et à Genève
« En recourant à des drones pour la maintenance des systèmes d’atterrissage automatique, skyguide va pouvoir réduire ses coûts et les nuisances opérationnelles, mais aussi les émissions de CO2 et de bruit », se réjouit Hervé Demule, ingénieur de la navigation aérienne/navigation engineer et chef de projet. Des drones sont donc utilisés pour la maintenance préventive et corrective du système d’atterrissage aux instruments (ILS) depuis janvier 2018 aux aéroports de Zurich et de Genève et seront également déployés dans les aéroports régionaux durant le deuxième semestre de cette année. Le recours aux drones est également examiné pour d’autres systèmes d’aide à la navigation.

 

Hervé Demule précise encore : « Nous collectons actuellement des données, afin de nous assurer de la fiabilité et de la précision des résultats. Vers la fin de 2019 et une fois que la précision des mesures et leur corrélation avec les vérifications en vol seront confirmées, skyguide entend réduire les vols de calibration effectués par avion ».

 

Nombre de vols de calibration divisé par deux d’ici à 2020
L’utilisation de drones équipés d’instruments de mesure doit permettre de réduire le nombre de vols de calibration et leur programme de mesure de moitié depuis 2020 et de 70 % à partir de 2023, ce qui se traduira dès 2020 par un abaissement des émissions de CO2 de 142 tonnes par an. Skyguide estime qu’à l’horizon 2023, la réduction de ces émissions devrait avoisiner les 199 tonnes par an.

 

Les experts de skyguide présenteront leur solution novatrice à l’International Flight Inspection Symposium IFIS à Monterey, en Californie, jeudi 19 avril 2018. Pour plus d’informations : https://www.ion.org/ifis/abstracts.cfm?paperID=5590