EN
Back to all the news & media releases

Klaus Affholderbach named skyguide’s new Chief Safety Officer

Klaus Affholderbach has been appointed as skyguide’s new Chief Safety Officer and Member of the Executive Board. In his new capacity he will be responsible both for technical flight safety and for physical and information security throughout the skyguide organisation.

Klaus Affholderbach is a Doctor of Science, and has worked and researched in high-energy physics at CERN in Geneva. He joined skyguide in 2001 and has since held various positions within the company including Head of Air Traffic Management Geneva, Head of International Airports (i.e. Zurich and Geneva) and, most recently, Head of Virtual Centre, with responsibility for all upper airspace areas. In his new Chief Safety Officer capacity he succeeds Simon Maurer, who is leaving to embark on a new professional challenge.

 

“It has always been clear to me that Safety & Security must remain represented on our new Executive Board,” says skyguide CEO Alex Bristol. “And in Klaus Affholderbach we have found a new CSO who combines experience in various areas of our operations and their safety requirements with strong theoretical and analytical skills.”

FR
Retour aux actualités & communiqués de presse

Klaus Affholderbach sera le nouveau Chief Safety Officer de skyguide

Klaus Affholderbach sera le nouveau Chief Safety Officer et membre du Comité de direction de skyguide. À ce titre, il sera responsable aussi bien de la sécurité aérienne technique (Safety) que de la sûreté physique et en matière d’informations (Security).

Docteur en sciences naturelles, Klaus Affholderbach a travaillé dans la physique des hautes énergies au CERN, notamment en tant que chercheur. Depuis 2001, il a exercé plusieurs fonctions chez skyguide. Il a notamment été responsable de la navigation aérienne pour le site de Genève, puis pour les deux aéroports internationaux (Genève et Zurich), et enfin pour l’ensemble de l’espace aérien supérieur (Virtual Centre). Il assurera la succession interne du CSO actuel, Simon Maurer, qui aspire à un changement professionnel.

 

S’exprimant à ce propos, Alex Bristol, CEO, précise : « Il a toujours été clair pour moi que Safety et Security devaient rester représentées au sein du Comité de direction. En Klaus Affholderbach, nous avons trouvé un CSO qui allie l’expérience de différentes unités opérationnelles et de leurs besoins à une grande capacité d’analyse. »