EN

More traffic, increased punctuality: positive traffic balance in the first half of 2019

Skyguide, Switzerland’s air navigation service provider (ANSP), operated and monitored 631’424 civil instrument flight rules (IFR) flights in the first six months of 2019, a 2.8% increase on the same period last year. Despite the steady traffic increase, skyguide achieved an excellent operating performance in the first half of 2019. 97.2% of all flights were handled without delay by air traffic control in Europe's most complex airspace.

More flights handled

The amount of flights handled by skyguide increased by about 3% month-on-month, in the first half of 2019. The biggest increase was recorded in February, with 3.6%. The growth recorded in the first half of the year is higher than the European average (ECAC countries, +1.7%), Eurocontrol’s measures of summer 2019, aimed at reducing delays in overloaded ACCs in Germany, France and Austria, are routing a certain amount of traffic through Switzerland.

 

Eurocontrol’s STATFOR-sourced statistics reveal strong variations between traffic categories within the airspace managed by skyguide in the first half of 2019. These variations are in line with those observed at the ECAC level, except for the all-cargo segment, which records the highest growth of all market segments within Switzerland

(-5.3% on the ECAC level).

 

First-half flight movement trends by category (airspace managed by skyguide)

 

The en-route traffic handled in the first half of 2019 rose by 4.8%, an increase of 0.7% over the same period last year. The number of movements (takeoffs and landings) controlled throughout Switzerland, on the other hand, has decreased (-0.8%). Zurich airport records a rise of 1.2% in IFR movements, whereas Geneva airport records a small decrease (-0.2%). The traffic handled at Switzerland’s regional airports shows a large decrease (-17.3%), due to SkyWorks ceasing operations in Bern-Belp at the end of August 2018.

 

Skyguide’s Geneva and Dübendorf area control centres (ACCs) are both increasing, with +2.7% and +2.6% respectively.

 

Skyguide’s busiest day to date in the first half of 2019 was Friday 28 June, when a total of 4,522 flights were handled.

2019 first-half movements by area control centre and airport:

Higher traffic volumes and higher punctuality

Despite the higher amount of traffic, skyguide maintained an excellent operating performance in the first half of 2019. 97.2% of all flights were handled without delay.

 

Most capacity-related air traffic control delays are incurred during peak periods. En-route delay per flight during the first six months of 2019 decreased by 60.4% year-on-year. 45.8% of this delay is attributable to weather conditions. 46.5% of the delay is attributable to traffic loads that were much higher than traffic forecasts, resulting in a lack of capacity on the one hand, and insufficient staffing on the other. 7.4% of the delay is due to staff illness.

FR

Plus de trafic, meilleure ponctualité : un bilan de trafic positif au premier semestre 2019

Au premier semestre 2019, skyguide, le fournisseur suisse de services de la navigation aérienne, a géré 631'424 vols aux instruments (IFR), soit une augmentation de 2,8% par rapport à la même période de l'année précédente. Malgré l'augmentation régulière du trafic, skyguide a réalisé une excellente performance opérationnelle au premier semestre 2019. 97,2 % de tous les vols ont été traités sans retard par le contrôle aérien dans l'espace aérien le plus complexe d'Europe.

D’avantage de vols contrôlés
Au premier semestre 2019, le nombre de vols gérés par skyguide a augmenté d’environ 3% d’un mois à l’autre. La plus forte hausse a été enregistrée en février, avec 3,6%. La croissance enregistrée au premier semestre est supérieure à la moyenne européenne (pays de la CEAC, +1,7%). Les mesures d’Eurocontrol visant à réduire les retards de l’été 2019 dans les centres de contrôle surchargés en Allemagne, France et Autriche acheminent un certain volume de trafic à travers la Suisse.


Comme le montrent les statistiques STATFOR d’Eurocontrol, l’évolution du trafic au premier semestre 2019 au sein de l’espace aérien contrôlé par skyguide présente également de fortes variations entre les catégories de trafic. Ces variations sont conformes à celles observées au niveau de la CEAC, à l’exception du segment tout cargo, qui enregistre la plus forte croissance de tous les segments de marché en Suisse (-5,3% au niveau de la CEAC).


Evolution des mouvements aériens au premier semestre par catégorie (espace aérien contrôlé de skyguide)

Le trafic de transit géré par skyguide au premier semestre au augmenté de 4,8 %. En revanche, le nombre de décollages et atterrissages dans toute la Suisse a diminué (-0,8%). L’aéroport de Zurich enregistre une hausse de 1,2% des mouvements IFR, tandis que l’aéroport de Genève enregistre une légère baisse (-0,2%). Le trafic des aéroports régionaux suisses est en forte baisse (-17,3%), en raison de l’arrêt des activités de SkyWorks à Berne-Belp fin août 2018.

 

Les centres de contrôle régionaux de Genève et de Dübendorf sont tous deux en croissance, avec une hausse de 2,7% et 2,6% respectivement.

 

Le vendredi 28 juin a été la journée la plus chargée du premier semestre 2019, avec 4 522 vols contrôlés.

 

Mouvements semestriels 2019 par centre de contrôle régional et aéroport:

 

Davantage de trafic et une meilleure ponctualité

Malgré l’augmentation du trafic, skyguide a réalisé une excellente performance opérationnelle au premier semestre 2019. 97,2 % de tous les vols ont été traités sans retard.

 

La plupart des retards liés à la capacité du contrôle de la circulation aérienne se produisent pendant les périodes de pointe. Le retard en route par vol au cours des six premiers mois de 2019 a diminué de 60,4 % par rapport à l’année précédente. 45,8 % de ce retard est attribuable aux conditions météorologiques. 46,5 % du retard est dû à des charges de trafic beaucoup plus élevées que le trafic prévu, ce qui entraîne des retards dus d’une part au manque de capacité et d’autre part à l’insuffisance des effectifs prévus. 7,4 % du retard est dû à des absences pour maladie.