EN

Swiss mobile phone network already suitable for drone traffic management, concludes a joint study by skyguide, Swisscom and the ARCS

Research specialists from the Aviation Research Center Switzerland (ARCS) commissioned by skyguide have demonstrated, together with telecom provider Swisscom, that Switzerland’s existing mobile telephony infrastructure is suitable for ensuring the safe performance of drone flight operations in Swiss airspace. A series of measuring flights showed that the exchange of data between drones and U-Space providers would be adequately stable for such operations.

Skyguide will be offering drone pilots a registration system in summer 2019 that will lay the foundation for safely integrating commercial and non-commercial drone operations into Swiss airspace (U-Space). This will also require a real-time exchange of data between the drones concerned, a drone traffic management entity (similar to air traffic management for manned aviation) and the providers of geolocation services (airspace charts).

 

Skyguide commissioned the Aviation Research Center Switzerland (ARCS) to conduct a feasibility study into the use of the Swiss mobile telephony network for drone operations. The study, which is entitled “The Use of Mobile Telephony for Drones” and was led by Professor Michel Guillaume of the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW), demonstrates that Switzerland’s mobile telephony infrastructure can already ensure the data exchanges and the drone control within U-Space. The study was jointly conducted by the ZHAW, the University of St. Gallen, the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) and Swisscom.

 

The findings are good news for Switzerland’s rapidly growing drone industry. The study concludes that no costly new infrastructure will be required to ensure the safe integration of drone operations into Swiss airspace. The findings also open up attractive new business areas for Switzerland’s telecom providers, as well as offering further development opportunities for the drone segment.

 

A follow-up study has now been envisaged for 2019 to further refine these initial findings and conclusions. Skyguide and the ARCS hope that new longer-term tests can be conducted here from the Dübendorf Innovation Park, which, with its particular focus on aviation research, has the competencies and the facilities required. Work is now proceeding on devising the corresponding research concept and clarifying the financing of these follow-up activities.

 

Klaus Meier, skyguide, Chief Information Officer:

“Skyguide is the first air navigation services provider to implement an integrated U-Space and thus ensures that drones are given safe access to the sky. And this study shows that, working together with our partners, we can serve as a strong catalyst and enabler for the drone industry.”

 

Rico Schwendener, Swisscom, Head of Innovation:

“Swisscom is committed to working with its research partners to give Switzerland a pioneering role in the digitalization of airspace. And we are correspondingly pleased that, as is shown by this study, the Swisscom mobile telephony network can provide a sound foundation for the monitoring and management of unmanned air vehicles.”

 

Michel Guillaume, ZHAW, School of Engineering, Centre for Aviation

“As the findings of this study confirm, mobile telephony networks can make a major contribution to the traffic management system. And this technology can enable the drone business to reach further new heights.”

FR

Une étude de skyguide, de Swisscom et de l’ARCS confirme que le réseau mobile suisse se prête au contrôle des drones

Mandatés par skyguide, des chercheurs de l’Aviation Research Center Switzerland (ARCS) ont établi, dans une étude réalisée en collaboration avec Swisscom, que les infrastructures de téléphonie mobile existantes sont aptes à garantir la sûreté des drones dans l’espace aérien suisse. Les vols radiométriques ont en effet montré que l’échange de données entre les drones et les fournisseurs de solutions U-Space est stable.

En été 2019, skyguide proposera un système d’enregistrement de pilotes de drone qui garantira la sécurité de l’intégration des drones – à usage commercial ou non – dans l’espace aérien suisse (U-Space). Pour que cette intégration soit possible, il faut assurer l’échange de données en temps réel entre les drones, le système de gestion du trafic des drones (semblable à la gestion du trafic des aéronefs pilotés) et les fournisseurs de services de géolocalisation (cartes aéronautiques).

 

Dans ce contexte, skyguide a confié à l’Aviation Research Center Switzerland (ARCS) la réalisation d’une étude de faisabilité sur la possibilité d’utiliser le réseau mobile pour contrôler les drones. Placée sous la direction du Pr Michel Guillaume de la ZHAW, l’étude « Nutzung Mobilfunk für Drohnen » montre que les infrastructures de téléphonie mobile peuvent aujourd’hui déjà garantir l’échange de données et le contrôle des drones dans l’U-Space. Cette étude a été réalisée en collaboration avec la ZHAW, l’Université de Saint-Gall, l’EPFL et Swisscom.

 

Les résultats de l’étude envoient un signal encourageant au secteur des drones, qui se développe à grande vitesse en Suisse. Les chercheurs ont en effet conclu qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de mettre en place de nouvelles infrastructures coûteuses pour garantir l’intégration sûre des drones dans le ciel suisse. De la sorte, les entreprises de télécommunication de notre pays pourront prospecter de nouveaux secteurs d’activités intéressants et la branche des drones exploiter des perspectives de développement supplémentaires.

 

Skyguide et ARCS entendent approfondir ces premiers résultats dans une étude complémentaire prévue pour 2019. Ils espèrent que les nouveaux essais de longue durée pourront se réaliser à partir du parc d’innovation de Dübendorf, dont le pôle de recherche en aéronautique possède les compétences et les infrastructures requises. Actuellement, les deux partenaires élaborent le plan de l’étude complémentaire et étudient la question de son financement.

 

Klaus Meier, skyguide, Chief Information Officer:

« Skyguide est le premier prestataire de services de la navigation aérienne à mettre en œuvre l’U-Space intégré. Il garantit ainsi aux drones un accès sécurisé à l’espace aérien. L’étude de l’ARCS montre que nous sommes capables, au sein d’un partenariat, de jouer le rôle de catalyseur du développement des drones. »

 

Rico Schwendener, Swisscom, Head of Innovation:

« Avec ses partenaires, Swisscom met tout en œuvre pour que la Suisse joue un rôle de pionnier dans la numérisation de l’espace aérien. Nous nous félicitons donc que le réseau mobile de Swisscom constitue, selon l’étude, une bonne base pour le contrôle et la commande des aéronefs sans pilote. »

 

Michel Guillaume, ZHAW, School of Engineering, Centre d’aviation:

« Les résultats positifs de cette étude montre que le recours au réseau mobile peut être d’un grand secours pour la gestion du trafic aérien, ce qui pourrait donner des ailes au secteur des drones. »